2009-08-03
QPL Reference Manual

Warning! This page is in the process of being rewritten for QPL Version 6. It may still have references to QPL Version 5.

The User List page lets you view the status of all the accounts. Click on "New," to create a new account or click on a user name to modify that account on the Edit User Account page. Or click on the "Cancel" button at the bottom of the page to go back to the main administrative page.

The picture below shows a sample User List page. You can click on the items on this picture to learn more about each element.

New

Clicking on "New" lets you add a new user account to this project. The Edit User Account page will be displayed where you may enter the new account information.

This function will not be listed if the project has expired, according to the Expiration date for user-created accounts) that was set on the Default Project Settings page.

Edit User Account

Clicking on the user name shows the Edit User Account page for that user and lets you view and modify all of the account information, except for the user name.

You may not change a user name after an account has been created because this information is used to link questionnaire records to respondents. If you need to change a user name, you should instead create a new account with the correct user name and change the status setting in the old account to "Closed," so it can not be used.

User Name

The User Name column lists the user name for each account. This name is used when logging into this project as questionnaire respondent or as an administrator (unless the project has been set to run anonymously). This name can not be changed after an account has been created.

Full Name

The Full Name column lists the full name of the person who has this account. This information is not required and may be blank.

Default Test Accounts

Five test accounts, test1 through test5, are created automatically for every new project.

Any questionnaire records created by a test account (i.e., any account where the user name begins with "test,") are not included by default in the main administrative page tabulation report. These records, however, are included in any exported data files.

You may use the New function on this page to add more test accounts if needed. If you give them user names that begin with "test," then the results will not be included in the tabulation report. (This also makes it easier to remove the cases later when analyzing the results of the survey.)

Address

The Address column shows each respondent's email address.

Group

The Group column lists each respondent's group assignment. By default, this setting is "NONE," indicating that this respondent is not part of a group and may only access cases he created.

Status

The Status column shows the current status setting for each account: Closed, Normal, Super User, Administrator or Data Administrator.

Authentication

The Authentication column shows a respondent's identity will be verified.

"Normal" indicates that the respondent's identity will be checked using the user name and password that were entered for this account

"LDAP" indicates that the respondent's password is blank in this system and that his identity will be checked using an organization's LDAP server (the default project setting, Authentication, must also be set to allow LDAP authentication).

Bad Logins

The Bad Logins column shows how many times each respondent or administrator entered his correct user name, but not his correct password, when logging into this project.

By default, a respondent or administrator is allowed ten attempts before his account is frozen. (The default number of attempts may be changed using the Maximum failed login attempts allowed setting on the default project settings page.)

If a user's account is frozen, a Notice page explaining this problem will be displayed the next time he logs in. The Notice page will also suggest contacting the project administrator to fix the problem if an appropriate assistance note was entered in the default settings page.

Expires

The Expires column indicates when an account expires.

The account will never expire if the expiration date is blank.

An Administrator or Data Administrator may change the expiration dates for individual accounts on the edit user account page. The System Administrator may change the expiration date for all Normal accounts using the Reset Expiration Dates function on the main administrative page.

Administrative accounts never expire, even if a date has been entered.

Cancel

Press the Cancel button to close this page and go back to the main administrative page.